Motivation Monday: Self-care

I have learned in the past few years that when I lack motivation in doing things, or “I don’t care” comes up a lot in my conversations, My brain is begging me for self-care.

Whether I like it or not, I take care of others every day, in my personal life and at work. And the truth is that I have not mastered a routine that will keep me centered and grounded.

“So often we take care of everybody and the whole time we’re putting ourselves on the back burner. This is the season for you to ‘do you’ first.” Lisa Nichols

How I would love to just make a public service announcement and say that I am doing me! lol

It is not that simple and easy but I found these tips that are doable for me so I thought I would share…

According to Greatist, mental health professionals recommend that we take at least 20 minutes a day to do something for ourselves.

I can find 20 minutes in the morning, during the day (if I start taking my lunch) and at the end of the day. So what can I possibly do for 20 whole minutes? I came up with this short list

  1. Read the book that I started but did not finish: “Let Go, Let Miracles Happen” The Art of Spiritual Surrender” by Kathy Cordova
  2. Dance around
  3. Go for a walk if the weather permits
  4. Meditate? (I can barely last 5 minutes but I downloaded a 22 minutes meditation that I always skip on my playlist
  5. journal about what I am grateful for.

Can you think of anything else? feel free to share. Hope you have a successful week.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

