Motivation Monday! Maya Angelou

I go to quotes often for encouragement and wisdom. Occasionally, I google the authors to know what they have been through in their lives.

Today, I am inspired by Dr. Maya Angelou as I step out to go to work.

“Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.”
Maya Angelou, Letter to My Daughter

I wondered, how can Maya Angelou think of being a rainbow in someone’s cloud after all that she has been through?

Maya Angelou
Poet and novelist Maya Angelou Tuesday, Sept 12, 2006, in Mobile, Ala. (AP Photo/Press-Register, John David Mercer)

 

Maya Angelou (full name Marguerite Annie Johnson) was born on April 4, 1928, in Missouri. In addition to racism, She was raped at 7 by her mother’s boyfriend. She was traumatized and stopped speaking for over 5 years. While others would have given up on everything, she still pushed through. A single mother at 16, she worked a number of jobs to support herself and her child. her career too off in the 1950’s (she was in her thirties) and the rest is history that you can explore more BIOGRAPHY.

Maya Angelou passed 2 weeks after my daughter was born and I remember she was a rainbow in my cloud when I watched Oprah’s tribute to her on Super Soul Sunday.

As I start this new week, I will remember that just like I had many people put rainbows in my clouds, I can make someone’ day, however small the act is. I hope you do the same and I hope you tell me all about it in the comments.

Have a successful week everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

