On the topic of love

Sometimes when I am bored or I just want to exercise my mind, I google random stuff. Now, for the past few weeks, I have been reading Paulo Coelho and he talks a lot about love and he got me thinking about it. So I googled “what is love?” Did you know that what is love was the most searched query on Google in 2012? Well, I learned that in the article that I am going to discuss.  I believe that the article published by The Guardian sums things up. It discusses five theories:

From the physicist point of view:

images (2)
From Google Images

“Love is chemistry” says Jim Al-Khalili. I found it interesting when he stated that from an evolutionary perspective, love can be viewed as a survival tool. 

From the psychotherapists point of view

Google Images
Google Images

Philippa Perry argues that “Love has many guises”  She talks about Philia, Ludus,Pragma,etc… But obviously, I liked that she mentioned Philautia which is self-love and she mentions that it is not as selfish as it sounds: “As Aristotle discovered and as any psychotherapists will tell you, in order to care for others you need to be able to care about yourself.”

From the Philosopher point of view:

Google images
Google images

Julian Baggini says that “Love is a passionate commitment.” I don’t know about you but I am exhausted just reading that definition, love sounds like a lot of work in philosophy. But I liked the fact that he says that we nurture and develop love.

From a Romantic novelist point of view:

Google Images
Google Images

Jojo Moyes says that “Love drives all great stories” … And I agree…

From a religious point of view:

Google Images
Google Images

Catherine Wybourne, a Benedictine nun states that “love is free but yet binds us.” I think I agree with this much more although there is truth in all other four theories. Catherine Wybourne states that: ” Love’s the one thing that can never hurt anyone, although it may cost dearly.”

My conclusion: 

“Nothing is mysterious, no human relation. Except love.” Susan Sontag

Now since my inspiration was Paulo Coelho, I want to share one of my favorite quotes from him: “Love is an untamed force. When we try to control it, it destroys us. When we try to imprison it, it enslaves us. When we try to understand it, it leaves us feeling lost and confused.” 

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

