The Media deceiving again

Image
From The stir

I don’t usually read Life and style magazine or any other tabloids. However, the May 14 issue drew my attention because I love Khloe’s personality ON TV, but I forgot to read it until today. Well, my reading experience confirmed my dislike of this magazine and I wasn’t pleased by their choices of words. Here is why:

Khloe Kardashian “Before: Sad and bloated Now:slim and overjoyed.” They go on comparing Khloe’s life before and after her miracle weightlosses: she was lonely in Dallas and loved in LA, she squeezed too tight, now she is effortlessly sexy, she was feeling insecure when she was fat and she was a confident bikini babe when she lost weight, she went back to hiding when she gained a few pounds in 2010, etc…

A few years ago, I would read this and become so aware of my body, I would agree with everything that is said in there. I would think that I am bloated, sad, not sexy and I would hide as much as possible. I have come a long way since I was depressed and that’s because I decided to do something about the way I felt. I am stronger than that now and instead of having a pity party, I looked for other comments on this issue.

Jacqueline Burt thinks that Khloe Kardashian’s Krash Diet is a Sign she’s under too much pressure.

Khloe herself takes advantage to promote her diet plan called Quick Trim and she admits (not directly) that it is a crash diet.

Now what is said about crash diets?Michelle Kerns of  Livestrong reports that “nutritionists and other health professionals repeatedly warn that crash diets are dangerous in a number of important ways. They can contribute to the development of long-term health conditions and may create psychological problems that only make achieving your weight loss goals more difficult.”

Inkart, Michael Halbert

First of all, beware of what you believe  from the Media. Reading articles like this one will not be beneficial for a person that is insecure about their body. You have to be strong mentally and be able to reject all the negative thoughts that the media tends to  feed us these days. Khloe herself stretches, how important it is to be comfortable in you own skin, in her shows, so work more on your confidence and go at your own pace.

Secondly, I understand that stars sing praises of crash diets because well! their body image is a key player in their image and reputation. Does that apply to you? Not necessarily! so I do not advise you to copy celebrities. They have their reality and we have ours. I have lost 15 pounds in the 10 months that I started excercising and being serious about my health and I am proud of me because I am learning slowly but surely to lead a happier and healthier life and the habits I acquire today will stick with me for the rest of my life.

In every situation, know that you are the owner of your thoughts and no one should make decisions for you.

4 thoughts on “The Media deceiving again

Add yours

  1. I was so shocked when I saw this cover. I love Khloe’s personality, she always seems so down to earth.
    And I agree with you, the media play a huge role in rending us insecure. We are never going to be good enough, so we need to go and buy all those fancy product…

  2. It makes me so angry and sad that women are not allowed to simply live and be happy the way they are..
    Congratulations on your weight loss by the way! Slow and steady with a healthy lifestyle is the way to go 🙂

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

